jump to navigation

OK, I’m in August 5, 2009

Posted by Jorge Candeias in Blog stuff.
trackback

In the previous post, I promised I’d tell you what I decided regarding the future of this blog. Thanks to Astroengine‘s (and Discovery Space‘s) Ian O’Neill, who tweeted overjoyously my coming back from the dead as a space-oriented english-language blogger and hastily linked this tiny little blog from his heavyweight one, and to the guy behind Exoplanetology, who retweeted Ian’s tweet, leading to more hits and comments in one day than in the previous three years, I was left with only one option: give a new breath of life to this little Frankenstein of mine.

So OK, fellas, I’m in.

Now, don’t expect this blog to be anywhere near as active as those blogs linked above. I don’t have that much to say, in truth, nor do I have the first hand access to sources major league space bloggers have. Plus I spend a lot of time writing each post in an English that wouldn’t embarrass me too much. Not my mother tongue and all that, you know? I’m likely to go through weeks without posting anything (particularly whenever the deadlines in my day job start to tower over me, which is something that does happen relatively often), although in some occasions I may put out two or three posts in a row. The word is erratic. Expect this blog to be just that.

To stay in the loop without having to come back regularly just to see that nothing has changed, you have, of course, my RSS feed. I toyed with the idea of creating a new twitter account just for this baby, but the two email addresses I check regularly were already taken, and it may not be worth the effort of creating a new one or paying closer attention to the ones I basically ignore. You can, if you will, follow my main twitter account, where I’ll post update notices under the hashtag #1000plans, but be advised that I tweet mostly in Portuguese and on other, non-space, issues, so you may find my twitter feed quite uninteresting.

But do follow @astroengine and @exoplanetology. Those two are most certainly worth it.

One last thing on commenting policy: to avoid spam and the hassle of captchas and logins, everyone’s first comment is moderated. That means that it may take a while to show up, especially if you’re commenting while I’m sleeping or otherwise away. Rest assured, though, that it will show up (unless it’s some sort of spam or particularly trollish), and once you have one comment cleared, you’re free of moderation and your comments will show up as fast as wordpress allows. Just so you know.

See you soon.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

